Pride and Humility

JUST FINISHED

‘The Pillars of the Earth’ by Ken Follett

VERDICT

Highly recommended.  A slight annoyance was that the mini-series started a handful of days after I started reading the book.  I am fairly certain that if a person had the choice between the TV series and a 1000+ page book, they would choose the former.

TO BE STARTED ON JAN 1ST 2013

‘The Legacy’ by R.A.  Salvatore (Book 8 of the ‘Legend of Drizzt’ series)

And that brings my total books read in 2012 to 22.  It is a number I doubt I will match anytime soon. The time spent traveling to work on public transport from January to August, plus my four months of unemployment, helped bolster that number significantly.

 I apologise for posting half a day earlier than expected, but it is so I can spend a few days focusing my energies into getting my writing discipline into order.  A list of what this discipline will be used for will be in the next post, which will be a celebratory post for a couple of reasons.

 

PRIDE

1)            (n) a high or inordinate opinion of one’s own dignity, importance, merit, or superiority, whether as cherished in the mind or as displayed in bearing, conduct, etc.

2)            (n) the state or feeling of being proud.

3)            (n) a becoming or dignified sense of what is due to oneself or one’s position or character; self-respect; self-esteem.

 

This is a vice that can be a virtue, in my opinion.  When it comes to religious orders, it seems that any type of pride is considered bad.  Yet you would be hard pressed to find anyone who does not feel a sense of pride at their achievements, or those of their children or extended family members.

The character that shall have this vice was originally slated as the number three inductee into the ranks of the ‘Malevolent Seven’, but has slipped in pacing reviews to be the final inductee to the team.  The character will have past links to other characters in the story, and help guide the team when another person’s information gives out.  I shall leave it at that as a teaser for Book 2 (PoK).

 

HUMILITY

1)            (n) modest opinion or estimate of one’s own importance, rank, etc.

 

This virtue is a rare and elusive thing, as you only seem to hear of it when people receive awards for acts of bravery or kindness that go above and beyond reasonable expectations.  It is what you expect of person who does something for the sake of it being the good or right thing to do, and does not expect any type of extra attention or gratitude for it.

This character will be the final reveal of all the main characters, in Book 7 (PoD).  I am still trying to decide if Humility or Chastity is the character pulling the strings in the background, though I seem to see it more as a team effort between the two.  One of my proof-readers was very observant in their question about a background character mentioned several times…

4 thoughts on “Pride and Humility

  1. Gosh, I have trouble reading long books, especially those over 1000 pages. The only books of that length I’ve ever read was Stephen King’s “The Stand” and the Bible. And I shall never read something of such magnitude ever again. I prefer comics now because they have pictures. No one can ever outgrow picture books.

    Anyway, yes, pride seems like somewhat of a virtue to me, too. It is good to be proud of some things, I think, such as one’s culture and ancestry, and I see nothing wrong with being proud of what you’ve done. It’s only wrong when one believes they are better than others because of these things. Humility is indeed hard to find. Even people that put themselves down too much and claim that it’s humility are really being more on the prideful side, as they are actually seeking attention. Humility is only found when someone really isn’t seeking attention.

    • Such long books are a hard thing to read, unless the author is a great writer. Thankfully, Ken Follett is. The last 1000+ page book I had read previously was ‘Executive Orders’ by Tom Clancy MANY years ago, then a double dose came through with ‘A Dance With Dragons’ by George RR Martin and ‘Pillars of the Earth’.

      Wait, ‘The Stand’ was over 1000 pages? I read that some years ago, which lead me into the ‘Dark Tower’ series, which is a source of inspiration for my big project =)

      The idea of pride as a vice seems to lead into the idea that you are better than those around you, which is not the mindset to have… unless you are able to resist rubbing people’s noses in it =P

      You are completely correct with your thoughts on humility. It is a balancing act to not become prideful. It is essentially doing the right thing for the sole reason of it being the right thing to do, and not to earn praise from others =)

  2. I thnk it is culturally ingrained what you are allowed – or supposed – to be proud of. Many governments encourage nationalism, while it often means social death in Germany (that’s where I live), unless you are a Neo-Nazi. Well, it has been somewhat mitigated, but if you asked a random person in Germany what they thought about ther country, wouldn’t openly say that they live in the bestest country in the world. Some people might even say they wished they were Swedish. Not Swiss, though; they like to earn money there, and hide their own money from the Finanzamt (the German version of the IRS), and I feel I am digressing.

    • That is very true. The Swiss may take pride in how much money they can keep out of the authority’s hands =P

      The more wide-spread sense of pride I am hoping to place in my world is humanitarianism, though it will be tempered somewhat by a disassociation of some from the wider world.

Leave a Reply

